Feed

Buckwheat isn't a form of wheat or even a grain but instead is related to rhubarb and is classified as pseudo-cereal. Although, soba noodles are made with buckwheat flour, which is gluten free, they contain some wheat flour so they are not an option if you have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity. The buckwheat in the soba noodles makes them high fiber and a slow-releasing carbohydrate. These two factors make them a source of good long-lasting energy.
by Joanne Perez, MS, RDN, LD

Buckwheat isn't a form of wheat or even a grain but instead is related to rhubarb and is classified as pseudo-cereal. Although, soba noodles are made with buckwheat flour, which is gluten free, they contain some wheat flour so they are not an option if you have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity. The buckwheat in the soba noodles makes them high fiber and a slow-releasing carbohydrate. These two factors make them a source of good long-lasting energy.


Comments

Need Personalized Diet Advice?

Get 1-on-1 coaching with a US Registered Dietitian Nutritionist (RDN). Achieve health & fitness goals with reliable, science-based diet advice.